DfE names new ministers following mass resignations

The Department for Education has appointed its new ministers following a mass resignation of Conservative frontbenchers in response to Boris Johnson’s handling of the Chris Pincher affair.


MP for Braintree James Cleverly has been appointed as Education Secretary following the promotion of Zahawi and resignation of Donelan.

Brendan Clarke-Smith, MP for Bassetlaw in Nottinghamshire since 2019, has been appointed as children and families minister replacing Will Quince.

MP for Morley and Outwood Andrea Jenkyns has been named as minister for higher education and skills at DfE.


Conservative peer Baroness Barran is the only minister to remain in her current position at DfE throughout the emergency reshuffle.

Sharing options